LOYOLA SACRED HEART HIGH SCHOOL

We extend a warm and heartfelt welcome to Loyola Sacred Heart, a Diocesan, Jesuit Endorsed Catholic High School dedicated to the comprehensive education of the whole person: mind, spirit, and body.

At Loyola Sacred Heart, our commitment to cura personalis, personalized care, and concern for each individual sets the foundation for a nurturing environment. Inspired by the Jesuit Charism of Magis and Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam, we strive for “The More” and work for the Greater Glory of God, guiding our students to become men and women for others. Our motto, “Caritas Christi Urget Nos” (The Love of Christ Impels Us), fuels our journey as contemplatives in action. We actively live out our Jesuit charism by serving you, our students and families, as companions through struggles and accomplishments. The ‘Grad at Grad’ serves as our compass, urging students to embrace openness to growth, intellectual competence, religious values, love, and a steadfast commitment to justice.

We recognize parents as primary educators, and together, we collaborate to form your children in the Catholic faith. Our curriculum is grounded in Gospel values, Catholic traditions, and a spiritual journey that sees God in all things. Loyola Sacred Heart welcomes students and families of all faith backgrounds, and we are committed to providing tuition support to any family in need who desires a Catholic education. Here, learning is an art—an active engagement where students discover what they want and need to understand. We are dedicated to teaching the invaluable skill of “how to learn,” fostering a community of lifelong learners.

Once again, welcome to Loyola Sacred Heart. We look forward to embarking on this transformative journey of education, growth, and service with you.

In the spirit of Magis,

Paul Richardson

Loyola Sacred Heart Principal

Accrediting Agencies

Missoula Catholic Schools is accredited by the Office of Public Instruction, Western Catholic Educational Association (WCEA) and is co-accredited by the Northwest Accreditation Commission/AdvancedEd (NWAC/AdvEd.)  

Montana Office of Public InstructionWestern Catholic Educational Association – WCEANorthwest Association of Accredited Schools/AdvancedED

ACADEMIC PRINCIPLES

The aim of the educational program at LSH is to develop women and men, who are compassionate and curious learners, intent upon assuming increasing responsibility for direction of their own intellectual, spiritual, social, emotional, and physical development.  Therefore, emphasis is placed on teaching students to be self-directed learners, people who make meaningful and deliberate choices about how to best profit from their educational opportunities.

CURRICULUM

The Program of Studies at Loyola Sacred Heart is intended to provide an education that is both Christian and humanistic. It is assumed that all Loyola students will continue their education on the college level. Emphasis is, therefore, placed on developing those skills and strengths that will be necessary for the successful completion of a college program.

Click HERE to learn about LSH Freshman Collegio Class.

TEACHERS

Loyola Sacred Heart (LSH) High School employs over 20 faculty, and 7 support staff, that are dedicated to the mission and calling of teaching in a Catholic school.  Many of our faculty carry master’s degrees from institutions all over the United States.  Our average tenure at LSH is nearly 16 years.  Our longest current tenured teacher is now beginning their 45th year of teaching!

ADMINISTRATION


Kelli Matheny
LSH Activities/Athletic Director
kelli.matheny@mcsmt.org

Brian McKernan
Counselor
bmckernan@mcsmt.org

Paul Richardson
LSH Principal
paul.richardson@mcsmt.org

Jen Haffey
Office Administrator
jen.haffey@mcsmt.org

Bernice Johnston
Administrative Assistant to Activities Director
bernice.johnston@mcsmt.org

Aaron Ward
Administrative Assistant to Activities Director/Head Girls Basketball Coach
aaron.ward@mcsmt.org

Kelli Matheny
Interim Vice Principal
kelli.matheny@mcsmt.org

FACILITIES & MAINTENANCE


Marty Halko


Ronnie Shumard
Head of Facilities and Maintenance
ronnie.shumard@mcsmt.org

BUSINESS


Scott Anderson
Social Studies/Marketing
sanderson@mcsmt.org

Aidan Courtney
History/Business
aidan.courtney@mcsmt.org

ENGLISH


Joshua Byrd
English/Publications/Yearbook
joshua.byrd@mcsmt.org

Lee Holladay
English Language Arts
lee.holladay@mcsmt.org

FOREIGN LANGUAGE


Chris Vielleux
Spanish
chris.vielleux@mcsmt.org

Stephanie Savard
French
stephanie.savard@mcsmt.org

HEALTH & EXERCISE SCIENCE


Eddie Stack
Health & Exercise Science
estack@mcsmt.org

KITCHEN


Cori Scafer
Kitchen Assistant
cori.schafer@mcsmt.org

LEARNING RESOURCE CENTER


Wendy Palma
MCS Learning Resource Coordinator
wpalma@mcsmt.org

LIBRARY


Meghan MacKinnon
Librarian/Learning Resource Teacher
meghan.mackinnon@mcsmt.org

Connect to the Library Website

MATH


Debbie Twite
Math
debbie.twite@mcsmt.org

Martha Jamieson
Math
martha.jamieson@mcsmt.org

MUSIC


Larysa Blavatsky
6th-8th Band/K-4th music; LSH Instrumental Ensemble
larysa.blavatsky@mcsmt.org

Gina Lapka
5th-8th Choir; Vocal Ensemble/Campus Ministry
gina.lapka@mcsmt.org

SCIENCE


Mike Crockett
Science
mcrockett@mcsmt.org

Virginia Tobiason
Science
virginia.tobiason@mcsmt.org

SOCIAL STUDIES


Tyler Capece
Social Studies
tyler.chehak@mcsmt.org

Scott Anderson
Social Studies/Marketing
sanderson@mcsmt.org

Aidan Courtney
History/Business
aidan.courtney@mcsmt.org

THEOLOGY


Katy Wylie
Theology
katy.wylie@mcsmt.org

VISUAL ARTS


Maura Whelan
Art
maura.whelan@mcsmt.org

ACCOLADES

Loyola Sacred Heart High School graduates over 90% of its seniors to a 4-year college or university and a further 5% to 2-year colleges.  Every year, the graduating class is awarded millions in scholarship dollars for academics, athletics and service.

In 2023, 82 AP Exams were taken in 6 subjects:

English Literature/Comp – 12 out of 12 scored 3 or above

English Language/Comp – 7 out of 12 scored 3 or above

Chemistry- 11 out of 12 scored 3 or above

Environmental Science – 11 out of 18 scored 3 or above

U.S. History- 11 out of 26 scored 3 or above

2D Art and Design – 2 out of 2 scored 3 or above

2023 AP Exam Pass Rate- 54 out of 82 (66%)

AVERAGE ACT COMPOSITE SCORES:

The state of Montana requires all Montana high school juniors to take the ACT exam.  Loyola Sacred Heart continues to set a very high standard as our students continue to score well above the state and national averages in all academic areas tested.

JESUIT ENDORSEMENT

On April 24, 2015 the Jesuits West Province of the Society of Jesus, with Fr. Scott Santarosa, SJ presiding for our MCS mass, endorsed Loyola Sacred Heart High School with this proclamation:

Loyola Sacred High School has a history rooted in the Jesuit mission in Montana.  That mission dates back to the beginning of the twentieth century when Father Albert Trivelli, S.J. and the Jesuit community founded Loyola High School in 1912.  Loyola served as a school for young men until 1974 when it merged with Sacred Heart Academy to become Loyola Sacred Heart High School.

Collaboration has always been at the heart of this mission, collaboration between Jesuits, the Sisters of Providence, the bishop and priest of the Diocese of Helena, local parishes, lay women and men, students and their families.  That collaboration continues to this day as we celebrate the continued relationship between the Jesuits and Loyola Sacred Heart High School.

We, the Jesuits, recognize that the Ignatian spirit which helped form this school from its earliest days is alive and well, continuing to animate the mission of the school, rooted in the Spiritual Exercises of Saint Ignatius Loyola.  With the Endorsement Relationship there are new opportunities for collaboration and growth with the schools of the Oregon Province, schools throughout the country, and indeed throughout the entire world.  Loyola Sacred Heart will bring its rich tradition of service to the people of Missoula, and we hope will be enriched by schools that share its mission.

Now with great joy, we celebrate the endorsement of Loyola Sacred Heart High School by the Oregon Province of the Society of Jesus.  We give thanks to God, whose grace remains the foundation of this school, and whose spirit remains its lasting hope.

Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam!

Father Scott Santarosa, S.J.

Provincial of the Oregon Province of the Society of Jesus