ST. JOSEPH ELEMENTARY AND MIDDLE SCHOOL

In 1874, The Sisters of Charity of Providence opened a boarding school for boys situated near St. Patrick Hospital.  This school, named St. Joseph was the first Catholic school in Missoula. St. Joseph Elementary and Middle School is the oldest Catholic elementary school in Western Montana. We are a small, diocesan Catholic, co-educational elementary school that promotes college and career readiness, providing comprehensive and challenging educational opportunities for students in an environment of Catholic teachings. St. Joseph School personifies a safe environment in which students know and respect each other.

St. Joseph School provides a small, accessible faculty, staff and administration whose dedication and belief in the individual student and Catholic education fosters their vision and professionalism. The school is a family-oriented environment, structured by a cooperative effort between faculty, administration, students and parents to promote high moral and academic standards.

Parent involvement is key to the school’s success.  Catholic teachings emphasize that parents are the first educators. At St. Joseph School, this belief is embodied in the partnership that the faculty and staff nurture with all parents to be active participants in their child’s learning. As a St. Joe’s parent, you will experience the support of a caring and loving community surrounding your student.

Accrediting Agencies

St. Joseph Elementary and Middle School is accredited by the Western Catholic Educational Association (WCEA).

ACADEMICS

Responding to student needs, the academic year is divided into two 18-week semesters, offering a total of 36 instructional weeks. Classes are self-contained from grades K-5 and departmentalized in grades 6-8. Language Arts, Social Sciences, Math, Science, Choir, Band and Theology divide the coursework for students in these grades. With a strong focus on spiritual development and the scholastic core subjects, SJS consistently scores above both Montana and National averages on the NWEA MAP assessment.  

St. Joseph Elementary and Middle School provides a high level of academic challenge to each individual student, supporting their unique strengths, talents, and learning styles. Approximately 90% of St. Joseph  8th graders continue their college preparatory education at Loyola Sacred Heart High School.

Students at St. Joseph School receive a dynamic and responsive educational experience enhanced with faith formation and direct opportunities to answer the call the serve others.  Beginning in PreKindergarten, students are encouraged to seek out opportunities to serve others in our call as missionary disciples. Throughout a student’s educational journey at SJS, they will experience an array of service opportunities. More importantly, they will actively reflect on the impact these experiences continue to share them into men and women for others.   Grade level retreats, participation in prayer services and liturgies, enhances the social, emotional, spiritual and moral development of all SJS students.

ST. JOSEPH SCHOOL CURRICULUM GUIDES

TEACHERS


Amanda Berry
Third Grade
amanda.berry@mcsmt.org

Andrea Felton
Learning Resource Teacher
andrea.felton@mcsmt.org

Angela McGill
7th and 8th Grade Mathematics/7th Grade Theology
angela.mcgill@mcsmt.org

April Feeley
Sixth Grade
afeeley@mcsmt.org

Autumn Schwenk
Secretary
autumn.schwenk@mcsmt.org

Candy Tucker
First Grade
candy.tucker@mcsmt.org

Corinne Andrews
7th and 8th Grade Social Studies/8th Grade Theology
corinne.andrews@mcsmt.org

Courtney Aadland-Lewis
Administration Assistant
courtney.aadlandlewis@mcsmt.org

Craig Myers
PreK – 8th Health Enhancement
craig.myers@mcsmt.org

Diana Barraugh
Pre-Kindergarten Teacher
diana.barraugh@mcsmt.org

Gina Lapka
5th-8th Choir
gina.lapka@mcsmt.org

Grace Cassens
7th and 8th Grade Science/8th Grade Theology
grace.cassens@mcsmt.org

Jamie Esh
Second Grade
jamie.esh@mcsmt.org

Jessica Heirigs
Fourth Grade
jessica.heirigs@mcsmt.org

Joanna Eichner
Principal
jeichner@mcsmt.org

Kari Stack
Sixth Grade
kari.stack@mcsmt.org

Kayla Picard
7th and 8th Language Arts
kayla.picard@mcsmt.org

Kyle Baney
Fifth Grade
kyle.baney@mcsmt.org

Larysa Blavatsky
6th-8th Band/K-4th music
larysa.blavatsky@mcsmt.org

Larysa Blavatsky
Instrumental Ensemble
larysa.blavtsky@mcsmt.org

Lauren McGill
Kindergarten
lauren.mcgill@mcsmt.org

Libby Mylnechuk
School Counselor
libby.mylnechuk@mcsmt.org

Meghan MacKinnon
Librarian/Learning Resource Teacher
megan.mackinnon@mcsmt.org

Nicole Warren
Fourth Grade
nicole.warren@mcsmt.org

Paisley Taylor
5th-8th Art
paisley.taylor@mcsmt.org

Ronnie Shumard
Head of Facilities & Maintenance
ronnie.shumard@mcsmt.org

Ryan Clinton
Third Grade
ryan.clinton@mcsmt.org

Shannon Paduano
Pre-School Lead Teacher
shannon.paduano@mcsmt.org

Sharon Kost
SJS Custodian
sharon.kost@mcsmt.org

Stacie Anderson
Early Education Director
stacie.anderson@mcsmt.org

Stephanie Reardon
Pre-K – 8th Technology
sreardon@mcsmt.org

Susan Seilstad
K-4th Art
susan.seilstad@mcsmt.org

Wendy Palma
MCS Learning Resource Coordinator
wpalma@mcsmt.org

Wendy Palma
Learning Resource Center Coordinator
wpalma@mcsmt.org

ACCOLADES